Congratulations 2019 Youth Leadership Walton Graduates!

Posted By: Teri Smiley Community, Community Programs,

We want to congratulate our 2019 Walton County Graduates and a very special WAY TO GO to the group we know best, our Youth Leadership Walton students! 

We met this group of 36 students, representing seven local schools, in their sophomore year for the first time.  That summer just before their junior year, we really got to know them at the Youth Leadership Walton retreat where we had team building activities planned for them to get to know the students from all the participating schools. 


Following that retreat, we met with the group monthly at each of the schools where they were taught the Youth Leadership UGA JW Fanning curriculum.  Topics covered through the curriculum included Understanding Leadership, Communicating Effectively, Appreciating Differences, Building Teams, Managing Conflict, Setting Goals & Making Decisions, Mapping Your Community and Exercising Community Leadership.  We have a wonderful group of local leaders who attended the training to be able to teach this curriculum for us.  Thank you to Dr. Carrie Booher, Mike Robison, Callen Moore, Terri Braswell, Dessa Morris, Mindy Maynard, Susan Enfinger, Chip Underwood, Dr. Sean Callahan, Gina Hawkins, Kenny Smiley, Susan Sykes, Amanda Lussiana and Liz Horton. 


The following year, as seniors, this group got to find out about the community they live in. Programs during this year included Public Safety – Police, Fire & Sheriff’s Department/Jail, City, County & State Government,   Economic Development and Healthcare.  We also had personal growth programs including Dress for Success, Resumes, Interviews, Public Speaking and Life Choices. 


I am so proud of the bond within this class and the growth I saw with these students individually from sophomore to senior year.  Schools represented include George Walton Academy, Loganville Christian Academy, Loganville High School, Monroe Area High School, Social Circle High School, Trinity Prep and Walnut Grove High School. 

Help me congratulate our 2019 Youth Leadership Walton Graduating Seniors!



Kendall Garrett                   

Will Gregg                                        

Rae Maddox

Sarah Sykes



Annabel Beckett

Natalie Fowler

Conner Gann

Lillie Sirmans


Loganville High School

Gabrielle Dermer

Riley Dunn

Govinda Goberdhan

Abigail Herbert

Michael Lewis-Wedderbun

Sierra Maxwell

Madeleine Morris

Ian Thomas


Monroe Area High School

Alyssa Campbell

Aaron Guthrie

Kearis Hill

Cameron McKay

Grant Olson

Presley Rowe


Social Circle High School

Emerald Gibbs

Shelby Harpe

Mya Ireland

Emily Jacobson

Cade Murray

Davis Smith


Trinity Prep

Kyle Duren


Walnut Grove High School

Annalee Arnold

Emily-Rose Holt

Chandler Key

Tyler Michael

Anjali Mohabir

Emma Story

Ben Thompson